Stay of possession claims (likely) to be extended

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stay of possession claims (likely) to be extended

Growing speculation / reporting based on unquoted inside sources on Twitter since last night that the stay on possession claims will be extended.

Latest appears to be a general stay to at least 20 September, which would then give time for parliament when it's sitting again to legislate for a more targeted suspension (i.e. to allow some type of cases but not others).
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Just about to post the same thing.

Think 20th September now confirmed and will be another new version of Part 55 of the Civil Procedure Rules.
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Oh joy. What fun.

Comment

And confirmed, even if the Master of the Rolls is a tad ticked off by the last minute direction of it.

https://twitter.com/mikey_the_geek/s...90077532758017
        I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

My expectation is that the delay is to allow for some new legislation which will allow some types of eviction and keep the suspension for the rest.
          There's no benefit in a month's delay, otherwise.

I'd advise anyone using the s21 accelerated procedure to try and evict tenants owing rent to look at the other options available as a back-up.