Intimidating, threatening lodger..LL staying with family as scared for his safety.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Intimidating, threatening lodger..LL staying with family as scared for his safety.

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this and want to help a family member who's having trouble with his lodger,

The landlord has had the police called out when the lodger got in the landlords face calling the LL a liar over a phone number or some such and the lodger won't let it go continually calling the LL a liar, and being verbally abusive and acting in an intimidating manner. He's also left the main house keys in the lock so the LL couldn't get back into his house when returning home - even after the LL knocked and calling the lodger to remove the key. The lodger also had a drink and drug problem and the LL isn't sure if this is still continuing - but that's by the by without proof.

The LL has served notice with a witness and the lodger has said he won't leave and threatened to change the house locks when the LL goes out. The LL was warned by the lodgers father that he has previously pulled a knife on his own brother and not to go into his own property alone or be alone. The LL is now staying with his sister until the notice (28 days) is up, meanwhile the lodger has pulled all the kitchen cupboards and drawers out into the middle of the kitchen when the LL went home to collect some belongings. Now the LL has been called by the lodger saying there's a gas leak by the cooker - which there was so it was turned off following an emergency call out for safety, and following this the LL has organised British Gas to come out and repair the problem. The LL has sent a message telling the lodger British gas are coming out, and that the LL would be home at some point too, to which the lodger replied to the LL telling him not to bother.