Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please help , not received a copy of tenancy

Hi All ,
    I am renting a room in a 6 bed student let that I signed a new Joint Tenancy contract ( all tenants signed the same copy ) in October last year for the 20/21 year. Me and my partner ( who rents a second room ) now want to leave the contract however we still have not received a copy of our contract despite asking the landlord on several occasions , both in writing and verbal. No other tenants have received their copy either , she keeps replying that she has been very busy and hasn’t had time . So I’m wondering is there a law that says a particular time frame that tenants have to receive their copy by otherwise it’s null and void ?

There is no such law.

There doesn't even need to be a written agreement.
    I've been renting in my current property for 10 years with nothing in writing.

What matters here is how you want to leave.
    Which is why a copy of the agreement would be handy.

It sounds as if you all signed a 'joint and several' agreement'.

Unless there is a break clause, which is very unlikely in a joint & several student let, then you are liable for your shate of the rent until the tenancy ends for all joint tenants.

Any break clause if invoked would end the tenancy for everyone.
    Which why it's unlikely there will be one.

I asume it was a 12 month tenancy and so even if finding a replacement tenant is agreeable to everyone it's unlikely you will find a suitable replacement for just 2 or 3 months.

Comment

nukecad I don't think the new tenancy has started yet. Surely a student let is Sept 20 to July 21? Perhaps Spaiel can confirm the position.

Comment

Insuff detail provided by OP

Comment

Even without a copy you can tell the LL you want to leave and why & ask what the process is.