Can I Stay in the Property to Make Repairs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can I Stay in the Property to Make Repairs?

Hi all - I'm new to this so apologies if this (or similar) has been dealt with somewhere else!
    I own a property in the south west but currently live in London. I've been renting the property out privately. My last tenant moved out in January 2020 and I was planning to get quite a bit of (much needed) maintenance done on it in the following months, but obviously Covid put a stop to that. I'm keen to get the works done and for it to be put back on the rental market again. My question is...am I allowed to stay over at the empty property to get work done and things moving again? Due to the distance there's no way I could make daily trips. I'm really unclear what the rules are. I don't want to be turned back by the police, but at the same time I do need the rental income, and it's silly to have a house empty when people could be living in it...any advice or thoughts gratefully received!

Definitely - as long as you're a government advisor...

Comment

As of today, staying overnight is not allowed (replacing leaving your home not being allowed), but work purposes is an exception and is allowed.
      When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
      Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Work through the night and nap during the day?

There are loopholes galore when a nanny state tries to micro-manage it's populace like this lot are trying to do.

Comment

Originally posted by jpkeates View Post
          As of today, staying overnight is not allowed (replacing leaving your home not being allowed), but work purposes is an exception and is allowed.