Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mechanics of temporary rent reduction for tenant

Hi,

I rent out a house to a family (wth 2 adult children). They moved in in December, have been good tenants and all of them are self-employed in industries that are highly likely to be impacted by the current shutdown. The monthly rent is 1,700 and it's let on a fully-managed basis through a letting agent (who I've been working with for a few years now).

I am in the fortunate position of being able to countenance a lower rent for a few months (at least until my partner and I have jobs!) and would like to unilaterally give them a 50% rent reduction for the next 3 months, so 850 instead of 1,700.

I talked to the LA who said that it isn't possible to engineer a temporary rent reduction (said the TA doesn't allow for it, the RGI will become invalid, etc) and the only thing I can do is refund the tenants an amount (up to me) after the LA has paid through the net rent to me. For obvious reasons (tax on 1700, paying the LA cut on the full rent, etc) I would rather not do that.

Is what the LA said accurate? Is there a mechanism I can suggest that allows me to give the tenants a temporary rent reduction without impacting the terms of the tenancy agreement and the RGI?

I would be grateful for any advice on this matter.

Regards,

J

You can simply write to the tenant telling that for x months (specify them) you are happy to accept £x as the rent in full, rather than the usual £1700 and that, after that period, the rent will revert to £1700.

You may find that your agreement with the letting agent means that they will be entitled to their fee based on the full rent.

If you do decide to follow the agent's advice, you would record the £850 rebate as a cost, which is allowable against income, so the effect for tax purposes wouldn't be negative (as far as I can work out!).
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.