Looking to rent our house out to move to the cotswolds.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking to rent our house out to move to the cotswolds.

Hi all, I've read through a lot of stuff on here which is all very useful but just wanted to know whether our plans are viable.

We currently live in Crawley in sussex with great links to the town and airport aswell as three bridges station which has excellent links to london and the coast.
    We want to move to the cotswolds nearer my daughter and keep our house as we believe the value will continue to increase due to its location.
    We've done a brief look into figures but just wonder if I'm on the right path here.
    I'm not too clued up on what you can claim back etc as I know it changed recently.
    I'm currently a train driver so I would be paying 40% tax.
    From speaking to estate agents they think we can get around 11-1200 a month for a 2 bed house.
    If we go onto an interest only mortgage then I'm hoping we can make the figures work.
    We have got about 26% equity in the house so our mortgage on interest only would be about £280.
    Landlord insurance is coming back about £17 a month. Not sure if that is good or not?
    Fully managed they want anything between 12 and 18% of the rental income so between about 130 and 215 depending on the estate agent.
    Obviously with the 40% tax I think that's about 200 a month so leaves us with about 3-400 a month?
    I know there other fees at the start and end of tenancies and they can be covered just trying to work out the monthly figures.
    Are we in the right ball park on figures?
    Obviously we need to research it more thoroughly but just trying to work out whether it's an option as we dont want to sell this house as we've spent a fair bit of money on it recently.
    Sorry for the long winded post, we just want to be realistic on what to expect.
    Thanks

Hi,