HMO Non Compliant Room Rented. What can I do? What are my rights?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HMO Non Compliant Room Rented. What can I do? What are my rights?

Hi everyone

I moved to the UK in August 2018 and I'm working in London.

I was very desperate to find a room in London as they go very quickly

I came across an agency and they signed me up to a very small room. I believe there are five main issues with my tenancy

(1) Admin charge of deposit charged but not registered by Landlord
    They took an admin charge to register my deposit (when it was legal and allowed) however I believe they have not actually registered it into a scheme. I have checked all three wesbites and its not on there.

What is my stance on this? As i am new to this country I do not know what my legal rights are? I have not approached the agency yet just in case this will put me on the back foot in terms of entitlements

(2) Non Complaint Room Size (single Room)
    The room does not meet the standards of a single bedroom for a HMO property. I would say its about 4 square metres big. Some councils and boroughs guidelines say that 4 square metres is not even enough for a baby in a cot.

Have the agency illegally rented me a room which is below the standards? Am i entitled the a refund?

(3) Known and informed by agency its not compliant however BAU rent continues
    Its only until recently that the agency have tried to move me on to another room as "it does not meet the minimum HMO standard" (documented in writing) However its been about 3 months and they still have allowed me to continue to rent the room

(4) HMO License legitimate?
    Definitely meets the definition of a HMO. I dont think it has a license, otherwise how would they get the license from the council to rent these rooms out. Unless they have altered the floor plan vs. what was submitted

(5) Shared window with my next door neighbour