Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lodger moved out and refusing to cover money owed or damages caused

Hi All,

Its my first time posting on these forums although I have been renting two rooms in my three-bedroom property for the last 5 years and have a couple of small 2 and 3 bed lets. I've thankfully never had any trouble with tenants so have not needed to request help until now. I'm really hoping someone can offer some advise on my issue. Thanks in advance.

Over the last 5 years I have usually had tenancy agreements for the lodgers that I have had, however with the latest two lodgers I took in, I decided I would secure things with a tenancy agreement. I adopted the agreement I have used from one of my other buy-to-let properties so and had them both sign separate agreements.

The agreements were 12 months fixed term. Rent is £450 and bills £125.

One of the tenants has been fairly difficult to deal with. He was younger than my advert stated (25 and above), although he assured me that he was a very respectful and clean person who was easy to live with. So I decided to agree and let him move in.

Since moving in I have had issues weekly that I have had to bring up to the group (both tenants), even when it has been obvious it has been the problematic tenant causing the issues, I have ensured I stayed neutral between the two. Some of the issues are below. Please note that my property was in impeccable condition prior to these tenants moving in, 4 years old and no damage anywhere.
    • Leaving all lights on in the apartment almost daily - meaning I was having to turn them off after him. Times I would come home late in an afternoon and find they'd been left on all day.
    • Repeatedly scratching the previously unmarked sink and glass cooker top (still unsure how this has been managed)
    • Overusing utilities (Water bill up 4x and electric bill up 50% compared to any previous readings in the 5 years of ownership)