Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

extra deposit for dog

hi everyone,
    i have found somewhere to rent and they can kindly accepted our small dog. I just wanted to check, they are asking for a £250 pet bond extra. My friend however said she saw something that said landlords are not allowed to ask for extra money anymore?
    Can anyone clarify for me so i know the current rules.
    Thank you

Landlords are allowed to put a clause in the tenancy agreement and ask for a bigger deposit if the tenant intends to keep pets in the property.

https://www.tenancydepositscheme.com...rom-pet-claws/

Comment

thats great, as long as that is the done thing i am happy with that, thank you

Comment

The combined deposit is still capped by the Tenant Fees Act at 5 weeks (6 weeks where annual rent is at least £50K).
        I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Some landlords will now simply increase the rent because they can no longer take a 'Pet deposit'.

Which means you will pay more overall - the longer you stay the more you pay.

And then some will 'forget' that they charged extra to cover your pet and will also try to claim costs when you leave because of the 'damage' your pet has caused.

It's one of the things they didn't consider when bring in laws restricting deposits.

Comment

And to make matters worse the law is that you can't take a higher rent and agree to lower it later if things are working out well with the pet.

There seem to be a very large pool of potential tenants with pets in my area going round in circles with nowhere to stay.

Comment

Originally posted by AndrewDod View Post
              And to make matters worse the law is that you can't take a higher rent and agree to lower it later if things are working out well with the pet.