Unilateral Break Clause

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unilateral Break Clause

Hiya, I'm not good at this kind of thing.

I moved​ ​​into a flat in London two weeks ago with a verbal agreement that the other T would not be smoking indoors, at the viewing. This is a joint contract.

The contract says: "Smoking inside the property is not permitted without the landlord’s permission which may
    not be unreasonably withheld, only in the lounge ( as specified by tenant’s use) or
    garden.

So, I had taken them at their word without thinking enough, and here I am."

The contract is for one year, up to 15/11/2020, however it appears I have an interesting break clause: "Term For the term of 1 year commencing on 16.11. 2019 - finishing on 15.11. 2020.
    As a new tenant to the property T(just me) will receive a two months break clause.
    If the tenancy has to be cut short the tenants have to find a new sharing tenant as the
    full amount of rent of £1000 is payable on the 16th of every month regardless."

There are no words to this effect for the other T.

This, paired with the following: "Where there is more than one tenant, all obligations, including those for rent and
    repairs can be enforced against all of the tenants jointly and against each individually.
    Where the tenancy is subject to deposit protection then joint tenants may have to
    nominate a lead tenant to act on their behalf with the Landlord or Tenancy Deposit
    Scheme provider or their alternative dispute resolution service provider."

My first question is: does this mean that I can break the contract in the first two months, or is it that I must provide two months notice at any time to break the contract?

Second: if I enact the break clause, will I be liable to pay my share of the rent up to the end of the contract, or is that placed on the other T?

I'd appreciate some insight! And please ask if more info is required to answer!
    ​​​​​​