Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on break clause and potential additional charges being imposed

Good morning all.

I have been renting a property for almost 6 years now, and for the past 2 years I have had the below clause added to my tenancy agreement.
    I am in now in the final stages of purchasing my first home, and have stated 8 weeks between exchange and completion (2 months) for purpose of serving my notice. However my landlord nor the agency are being forthcoming with any degree of flexibility. The place I rent has been kept in extremely good condition and I have done many things for the landlord including DIY.

The wording is very awkward given nobody takes 6 months to purchase a house, and in my opinion is not really useful for a break clause in any way or form.

The agents are also stating I am liable for rent up to the end of my tenancy agreement date (25 Jan 2019 as well as a bunch of other costs detailed below)

My questions are

1. Are these legally enforceable?
    2. Would I just be best off walking away when I need to move and losing my deposit (£1500)
    3. Should I seek legal advice / CAB to assist me?

Tenancy Agreement wording