X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant not forwarding post.

Hello,
    I have had a previous tenant that failed to forward me post for a court summons for my unpaid rates. As I missed the summons I have been fined.
    it was in the tenants agreement about forwarding mail onto myself.
    I have spoken to them and they're denying they received post in my name.
    Should I be able to take the previous tenant to small claims court for not forwarding me the post?
    Just to note they have been our of the property for a few months now.

Whatever the agreement say, it's your job to make sure all the relevant bodies and organisations know your correct address.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Thanks for your reply, so I may be out of luck?

Comment

Originally posted by JohnJ80 View Post
        Thanks for your reply, so I may be out of luck?
        Not really a matter of luck. But not a chance you will win this one.

Comment

You can tell the council you're a landlord and they'll use your address for bills when the property is empty.

You can't claim anything from the tenant, because you knew you owed the council tax whether or not you saw an invoice.
          When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
          Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Thanks for your response. Is this the case even if it’s stipulated in the Tenants Agreement?

Comment

Thanks for your response. Is this the case even if it’s stipulated in the Tenants Agreement?