Tenant's troublesome dog

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant's troublesome dog

Hi, I'm relatively new to being a landlord, I bought an ex council property in the same street as I lve, renovated it, and now rent it out to a couple who have been no problem at all, we get on well. They want to sign up for five years, and in the light of this, when they asked if they could have a dog, I agreed. The dog they got was a border collie pup who is now 6 months old and does not get enough exercise. It has been going to work with my tenant up until recently, and now they are trying to get it used to being in a pen in the garden. This is where the problem lies, it is barking constantly, and the neighbours on one side have complained. Apparently the dog got into their garden at one point and bit one of them when they were trying to remove it. My problem is, I am the proprietor of the village pub, therefore I know everyone that lives here. I have tried to explain to the neighbours that it won't do their neighbourly relationships much good if I intervene, and can they try and come to a solution without me, but I have had correspondence again today asking me to do something. My question is, is it my problem if my tenants have a noisy dog?

No problem mate. Just don't expect neighbours to help you in any way, if you do nothing.

Comment

You can withdraw you permission to keep a pet/dog at any time (suggest 1 cal month).
      Neighbours can report injury to Police or cruelty to RSPCA at any time.

Comment

1 - Don't let anyone sign up for 5 years.

2 - If the dog bit the neighbour, they should report it to the police as that's an offence.

3 - Being both types of landlord in village sounds like a recipe for disaster.
        When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
        Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment