Gov allowing tenants to buy PRS housing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gov allowing tenants to buy PRS housing

I've just heard on the Andrew Marr show that if somebody gets in (I wasn't listening fully so I don't know who it was, I've no doubt somebody on here can name that person), they will allow tenants to buy their PRS property at a price that means the landlord will not lose out.

Surely this will encourage tenants to ensure their property looks in poor condition when it is valued, and it will encourage landlords to let to UC tenants who are unlikely to be able to buy.

What are your thoughts?

John McDonnell and Jeremy Corbyn aren't the government (yet).
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Originally posted by Berlingogirl View Post
      , they will allow tenants to buy their PRS property at a price that means the landlord will not lose out.
      Well 'not lose out' are weasle words anyway, aren't they? I suspect they'll subtract all the rent tenant has paid from the value of the property, so after 20 years tenant gets it for nothing. (And did not even have to pay interest on a mortgage.)

I'd guess no landlords will be paying for any lease extentions for leaseholds now, if they're wise?

BTW, how is landlord supposed to pay off his mortgage when tenant exercises his 'right to buy'?

Comment

I personally think this is a way to get council's off the hook, as they don't have enough properties themselves (especially since they sold them all off cheaply to their tenants who subsequently then sold them off making profits), by getting landlords to part with their properties and hand them over to the tenants, it would be similar to compulsive purchase orders. If they really want to take properties off a LL's hands they will do.