Agent holding rent paid in advance

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agent holding rent paid in advance

Not a big issue but before I talk with my agent further Id just like to get some feedback if possible from the collective here. For reasons not worth going into, my new tenant is going to pay for 12 months rent up front. I asked my agent if there was a choice as to whether they or I could hold this balance and they didn't answer directly but said it was best if they hold it. At then end of the day if they do it's no big deal but I just wondered that if I insisted I wanted to hold it then would I have any wood to stand on so to speak?

Many thanks

Why on earth would you let the agent hold it? Let them deduct whatever % of management fee from it, and pay it over immediately.

If your agent fold in that 12 months, your tenant isn't going to be paying you rent again as they've already paid it.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Of course you hold it. It is your money and the agent is not an escrow service. If they go bankrupt you are down the creek.

Comment

Agree with the above. From experience I find it prudent to consider what would happen if a company becomes insolvent.

Bear in mind though that if all rent has been paid to you (and assuming that the agent is managing the property for the forseeable) there will be nothing to deduct expenses from. Either you will need to settle any bills yourself, or reimburse agent for them, or you could leave a small balance with them for this purpose.
        There is a fine line between irony and stupidity. If I say something absurd please assume that I am being facetious.

Comment