Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bad tenants left - no rent and damages

Hello -
    I’ve had some very nasty tenant experience and old appreciate any guidance in the right direction that will help me deal with the situation.
    In Summary, the tenants did not pay rent on time for at least 6 months. Then they just stopped. After about 6 weeks of unpaid rent, they left abruptly, giving me a one day notice and leaving the house in a mess (their broken furniture and other items that they don’t need). The carpets, walls and garden is a mess. There is a lot of garbage in the garage.

The deposit which is in DPS only covers the unpaid rent. I have started the process for claiming that money though DPS. It’s been 2 weeks and the tenants have not responded which shows its clear that they are not expecting the rent back.
    Since they have left without giving me a forwarding address, I am seeking some information in the following areas
    1. I would like to file a small claims case against them for the damages. I have their phone numbers and can see they have social media (flaunting expensive dinner parties). I also know where they worked when they lived in my house. Don’t have their current address.
    I am hoping I can file a case and then take the papers to them and give them a choice to come back to the house, take their mess and clean up to avoid a legal case. If not, I will pursue the case and at the least get them a CCJ. Thoughts?
    1. I don’t know where they were paying for electricity. I believe I am liable for bills now, but how can I find out where they ere paying so I can pick up? Or am I liable? Since they left without proper notice, leaving their possessions in the house 2 months before their contact ends, they should still be liable for bills until end of contact?
    1. Is there a way for me to find out their current address

Usually the best idea is to let deposit pay for repairs, and sue for rent arrears. (Can't be disputed.)