Question about statutory periodic tenancy or contractual period tenancy

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about statutory periodic tenancy or contractual period tenancy

Hi I need your help. I have been renting a property for the last 6 years at the beginning we had an ast for a year and renewed for 3 years. After this the landlord did not want to renew and instead roll over to a statutory periodic tenancy. I have given the one month's notice to vacate. But the agent has sent me my old tenancy agreement where it says I need to give two months. I've attached a picture. Am I right in thinking it's worded incorrectly as they have wrote it will roll on to a statutory periodic tenancy in wich the notice period is one month but they've added they need two months notice but therefore making it a contractual periodic tenancy.? This was made unclear to me I just need to know where I stand. Thanks in advance for your help.

The photo isn't large enough to read.

Could you please quote what the highlighted paragraph says?
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Also you need to redact the names and signatures.

(I suspect the forum has a size limit on photographs from new posters to be protect against spam and illegal images.)

Comment

Sorry ! This is what it says.
        thankyou

The tenants Agrees to provide written notice of their intention to leave the property and minimum of two months prior to the end of the agreed term. Unless the notice is received in due time the tenancy will continue on as statutory periodic Tenacy, And still requires two months written notice to be received by the landlord or agent before their intended departure

Comment

I'm not convinced the first part is valid as you can normally leave without warning at the end of the fixed period.