Tenant here. Landlord(s) possibly committing insurance or mortgage fraud

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant here. Landlord(s) possibly committing insurance or mortgage fraud

I have been renting a place through a letting agency for about 18 months now and a few things don’t add up, which has me anxious.

I have received letters from their home insurance provider to this address (where I rent). According to the insurance statement letter, the owners have renewed their insurance during my tenancy here – claiming they live here and the property is not being used as a BTL, which it is.

Does this leave me in a bad position if the home insurance provider discovers this deception/fraud?

In addition, the surname of the landlord on the tenancy agreement is completely different from that on the insurance form.

This is extremely confusing and more than a little dodgy.

I have been trying to find the actual owners of the property through 192.co.uk, although it is proving very difficult.

The letting agent is also a complete shyster/chancer, incredibly dishonest, took a deposit without protecting it - the whole shebang - and refuses to give me their details, even when faced with court action and threats from my solicitor. This bully boy agent hasn't got two brain cells to rub together.

I am not sure what to make of this, the landlord’s surname not being the same on the tenancy agreement as on the insurance form; the fact they’re still claiming to live here. Does this put me in any risk? Mortgage repossession possibly?

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

You already seem to be at risk. I don't see that insurance fraud would make it any worse, although mortgage fraud could, as it allows a possible section 8, ground 2, eviction. The insurance fraud means that no-one will pay for new accommodation if the building burns down, but the main loss will be to whoever took it out.