Threats from local authority

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Threats from local authority

This is my first time using this site and I class myself as an amateur as I only have 1 property let. I manage properties for some family members too so do come across a range of issues.

I work for the local authority and I naively though letting my first property to the council would be a good idea. I was paid an incentive to take on their tenant but I manage the property myself.

The tenant has been in my property for a year and is in receipt of housing benefit to pay the rent. She has never paid the full rent as she has £100 a month to top up from herself that the HB doesn’t cover.

Her arrears have not accumulated to 2 months arrears so I cannot start possession proceedings.

Even worse than her not paying her full rent is the condition of my property.
    the house was immaculate when I let to her but now it is covered in mould, I have had 2 separate companies to assess the property for them both to state it is caused by the tenants lifestyle i.e not putting heat on frequently, drying clothes on radiators, not opening windows etc. The mould is on windows, walls, curtains and blinds and many of tenants possessions.

The tenant believes it is down to the property as the surveyor hasn’t told her directly she is causing the issues.

The tenant called her housing officers who have threatened legal action against me unless I repair. In actual fact there is nothing to repair. I’m at a loss with how to deal with tenant or housing officers. I have a report from damp surveyor and although they do state this particular damp and mould is caused by lifestyle they also have quoted £0000s to fit vents to counteract the problem.

I do do not want nor do I have the money to have the vents fitted.

The tenant is causing non stop issue and complaining constantly to housing officers.