dispute with council over council tax

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

dispute with council over council tax

i have been billed for council tax for a property that was rent out. the tenant also ran a pub. he left last november , i told the council he had gone and informed them when the new tenant moved in . they billed me for when the property was empty. and i paid that bill . now 8 moths later the tenat as been tracked down and told them he left in august and as he as been paying bills at the pub they ahve taken his side and billed me from august, anyone know how i can prove he was there. he had been a tenat for three years and the last year we just carried on his tennacy

You appeal to the council with whatever evidence you have, and if they reject that, appeal to the Valuation Tribunal.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

How did he inform you that he was ending the tenancy and wanted to leave ? Do you have any texts he sent or letters etc you can show, what about utility bills which i gather he must of settled at the end of his tenancy.

Comment

i have texted about from him about rent payments also one saying he as dropped the keys off. but council will not look at them i have screen shot them . i had all the utility bills but threw them away when i thought it was all sorted when i got the bill for the empty period. only bill he always paid was for the internet. but i do not now how i can get hold of that.

Comment

Ask utility company for copy of bill. Any inventory? Do you have a date when property was first advertised ?

Comment