No defence to Part 8 claim

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No defence to Part 8 claim

I started part 8 claim for breach of deposit protection law and 14 days have passed and LL not filed any defence. Court have asked me to confirm that I also not received any response from LL which I am going to do next week.

I sorted out remedies to return my deposit and 3 times penalty in my claim. What would happen now? do I get full remedies claimed or not and do I have to go to hearing or I would get a judgement without hearing?

There will still have to be a hearing. Default judgment may not be obtained for a claim under the Part 8 procedure. In theory, if the defendant failed to file an acknowledgment of service, they "may attend the hearing of the claim but may not take part in the hearing unless the court gives permission". Don't be surprised if they do turn up at the hearing and the judge does give permission for them to take part though.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Do all joint tenants have to attend hearing or one can attend for all ? can one tenant authorise other if he confirms in writing and would court accept that?

Comment

Latest Activity

Collapse

• Deemed Date of Service of a Section 8??
        hollyblue
        I hope someone can advise.... I am worried I have wrongly worked out the “earliest date on which court proceedings can be brought”.

i served the Section 8 on Thursday 22 August (yesterday) by putting it through the tenant’s letterbox about 5pm. I put the earliest date on which court...
        23-08-2019, 19:33 PM
      • Tenant suddenly wants new fixed term tenancy
        bmw75
        Dear Forum.