Tenant rights - Not able to enjoy property without disturbance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant rights - Not able to enjoy property without disturbance

Looking for any advice on the following.

Having handed in notice on the flat I have been renting for the last 5 years and my landlord is now stating that he wants to carry out building/maintenance/ repair work in the property before I vacate.

The following work has been stipulated, non of which are urgent:
    *Vents installed to living room/bedroom chimney breasts
    *New Loft insulation
    *New fan installation in bathroom/hallway/kitchen
    *Damp proofing in all rooms
    *Redecorating

I am on a standard tenancy (shorthold assured) and have communicated the need for some of the repairs over the course of the last 5 years, yet there has been little urgency on their part to act.

He has communicated that he is on holiday for much of this month so needs to get the work done asap. He has also stated that he doesn't want there to be a period where the property is unoccupied so needs to get the work done now in order for new tenants to move in the day after I leave.

I have communicated the level of disruption and inconvenience this work will cause in the 2 weeks I have left in the property, particular as I have started packing but he is not willing to be reasonable.

As a tenant, what rights do I have to be able to enjoy the property for the remainder of my time without any disturbances or inconvenience?

You have the right to refuse all access if you so choose... You have the right to change the lock (keep the original and change it back on your last day).

What is in the contract?

Sounds like the LL has found new tenants, formed an agreement with no void/gap... Dangerous thing to do (for him) as he cannot guarantee you will vacate. I assume you have a new property lined up already?

Comment