Deposit to secure room

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Deposit to secure room

I've been renting out rooms in a houseshare for a couple of years now. I recently advertised a room which will be vacant in 2 weeks time. A few people were interested and I offered the room to someone who was looking for somewhere long term. This person had said they had been looking for a while and hadn't found the perfect place, then advised in the evening following the viewing they would take my room. They gave me the required details for the tenancy agreement and I emailed this to them with details for deposit payment which I advised would be needed to secure the room. I removed the room advertisement. This potential tenant then went quiet. After 5 days I checked their profile on the website I had been using to advertise, they had added to this that they would be in the area for viewings on the day before, a few days after they advised they would take the room I had advertised and I could see they had been active on the site that day. I contacted them to say I could see from the website they were still looking around at rooms and that that offer of the room is withdrawn. I had suspected they might be thinking of my room as a backup plan when they went quiet. I didn't wish to rent to someone who was clearly dishonest. So far I have had good tenants and only a few changes since tenants seem to be staying at least 1.5 years then moving in with partners or to another city.