Rich vs Poor / Landlord not returning Deposit

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rich vs Poor / Landlord not returning Deposit

I just moved out of a property after 7 years and landlord is not returning my deposit and want to keep deposit for decor, cleaning and other things which have completed their expected lifespan. Tenancy was fixed for 1 year then statuary period tenancy for 6 years. He protected my deposit with a scheme but not sent me prescribed information. I studied lots of material online, case law and Housing act 2004 and I think I can make an application in county court under small claims track.

Landlord is very rich and he can easily hire a solicitor but I can't afford a fee and It would be difficult for me to compete in the court.

I want to know , do I have to pay costs and how much if don't win?

Claim would stay on small claims track or landlord can move to other track?

My landlord is living 250 miles away form me and an individual not a business and company. By law, I have to submit my claim to nearest county court (paper claim) . How court would decide hearing location , near me or near landlord?

I am quite scared of this , would be easy or tough or can I get some help from any one free of costs?

Please share knowledge and insights , thanks

What are the exact dates?

If you are considering a claim for non-compliance with the deposit protection legislation, then I believe you have 6 years from the non-compliance to submit a claim..

Regarding the non-return of deposit, lodge a dispute with the deposit protection scheme; only consider small claims if that does not give satisfaction.

Comment

Hi. I'm in a similar situation at the moment and there's loads of good feedback from members on my thread from today. Have a read, it might help.