I did not use tenancy deposit scheme help !

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I did not use tenancy deposit scheme help !

I am a novice landlord and i took over the tenancy from the agent and they gave me the deposit . Tenets moved out and i deducted £160 from there £600 deposit for repairs . Then got a letter from a solicitor demanding 6x the deposit ! After looking in to it i now see i was in the wrong but from what i have read it is maximum of 3x the deposit ,they are say because they renewed the tenancy for a second year that it is two breaches so they can ask for 6x is this right ?
    Have offered them x1,5 of the deposit to try and stop it going to court but feel the solicitor is trying to get to court .
    Any help would bee great .

It won't be much comfort, but the solicitor is almost certainly does not want it to go to court, but rather to get as much out of you as they an without doing so. They are certainly not going to accept less than three times, and my guess is that they would go for four times, plus costs, out fo court.

Comment

Joining NLA/RLA for some LL training would have been cheaper.
      How did you renew their Tenancy? Details matter.

Comment

When i renewed it i just sent them a paper copy to sign ,there was a £40 increase in rent but i did not increases the deposit . thanks for helping out .

Comment

Hi
          I would try and settle out of court, make a offer and see what and negotiate.

Comment

Had the agent protected the deposit and given the tenant the required PI within 30 days?

If not then there are indeed 2 breaches, one when the agent didn't protect it correctly, and one when you renewed and didn't protect it correctly.
            The agent was contracted/employed by you and so you would be ultimately responsible for both.
            (You could later sue the agent for not doing the job properly).

Up to 3x penalty could be imposed for each breach.

Keep negotiating, it's cheaper than going to court.