Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Removing joint tenant from rolling AST

Hi. Hope you can help me.

I live with my wife, child and disabled adult brother in law (A).

A and myself are in a joint AST. The fixed term has ended and it is rolling.

My wife is not on the lease (as she has poor credit history and does not have an income and it would have affected our ability to obtain the tenancy). She is a permitted occupier.

Due to A's condition he is having to move out and we need to remove A from the joint tenancy so that he can take up a new tenancy.

I wish to remain in the property and carry on the tenancy as normal.

I am a professional with decent credit history and sufficient salary to cover the rent. I still have the same job that I had when I started the tenancy. Nothing has changed.

First issue is that my letting agent wants to charge A a £25 fee for providing a reference to his new landlord? Is this fair and reasonable?

Secondly, the letting agent wants me, and my wife, to start a brand new tenancy and for us both to go through the whole referencing process again- with all the fees that go with it!

Is this correct?

What is the most efficient and cheapest way to remove A from the joint tenancy?

I appreciate your time and help.

What the agent is proposing (ignoring the fee element) is the best solution.
    The current joint tenancy ends and a completely new one begins - with any issues with the "old" deposit sorted and the deposit returned and a new deposit protected.
    There isn't really any other way to remove a joint tenant other than ending the tenancy.

Your wife doesn't have to be on the AST necessarily, she could presumably continue to be an occupant as now.
    Which would mean you would be the only tenant.

Fees for providing a reference, at £25 that sounds not as bad as it could be.