who is responsible for the broken fridge/freezer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

who is responsible for the broken fridge/freezer

I moved in a flat last Tuesday. I found the fridge is not cool enough but the freezer works well. However, on Saturday the fridge/freezer didn't work. Foods in freezer began to thaw. The shelf in freezer is much warmer than the other part.

I contacted with the agency and they said I should be responsible for the repair. I checked my agreement, there is nothing about the repair of the fridge/freezer. Then who is responsible for the broken fridge/freezer?

If it were provided to you (furnished / part furnished) as part of the tenancy, then your landlord ought to be responsible for it, especially if it's broken so soon after moving in.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

Comment

Agree, i have a couple of flats and although unfurnished the kitchen does have the white goods (fridge/freezer, washer, dryer) it is understood by my myself and my tenants that i provided them, they are part of the deal when they viewed and it was let so if they break..... i fix or replace them. Easy.

Comment

My tenant complained about the same thing 2 years ago. After an expensive call out the problem turned out to be a bit of ice stuck in the fan. When the same thing happened a few months ago I suggested the tenant defrost it for 48 hours and then turn it back on. She did and it worked perfectly. Might be worth a try if you can find somewhere to store your food

Comment

If it is on the inventory and there is nothing to say that the T is responsible, then I would say it is the LL's responsibility.

Personally I have only ever provided fridges and freezers on the basis that if they break, then the T repairs and the T can then take it away with them.

Comment