Tenants 3 Weeks In Arrears

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenants 3 Weeks In Arrears

Advice please...Ive normally been fortunate with tenants paying rent on time. However currently my tenants are 3 weeks in arrears with excuses every day. Im not expecting a good outcome and do not believe I will receive any more rent. The letting agent (not fully managed) is saying don't go too extreme and start sending letters about court action. I think I need to start escalating matters?

Fire your agent. You don't have to start court action immediately on notice expiry if you so choose, but serve the notices so you *have* the choice. If you don't serve the notice, you don't even have the choice.

Section 21 if tenancy is periodic or fixed term ending within next couple of months.

Section 8 ground 10 now, ground 8 and 11 if and when a second month of payment is missed.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

You should first understand if the T's circumstances have changed (lost job) if you want them out, then serve S8 or S21 notice, and then follow through with court. Serving notice may get the T to pay up or not.

How long have you got left until the tenancy ends? As if they have 2 months left may be easier to just get a possession order.

Comment

If the letting agent isn't managing the lease, their views are just advice.

Do what you think is appropriate,.
        When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
        Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Even if they are managing, it's still just advice. They're the landlord's agent, they're supposed to act in accordance with the landlord's instructions.