Tenant wants out (three months into twelve-month let)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant wants out (three months into twelve-month let)

Hi All,

I am a newbie to this site. Was wondering if someone could assist me?

I have a student, which signed up to a 12 ast agreement, and she wants to get out of it 3 months early. Should I just turn around and say you need to pay up until the end up of the agreement or work around it? Anyone else been in this predicament? As anyone else tried to negoiate a middle ground where the tenant pays half of the rent for the 3 month period to get out of the agreement?

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks
    Last edited by bsnapool; 25-03-2008, 13:39 PM. Reason: More Detail

Originally posted by bsnapool View Post
    I have a student, which signed up to a 12 ast agreement, and she wants to get out of it 3 months early. Should I just turn around and say you need to pay up until the end up of the agreement or work around it? Anyone else been in this predicament? As anyone else tried to negoiate a middle ground where the tenant pays half of the rent for the 3 month period to get out of the agreement?
    You can't simply insist that she pays you for the full term; and neither, obviously, can you physically restrain her from quitting.

What you can insist upon is that she pays for your readvertising and associated costs, and that she covers the rent until you have a new tenant installed. You have to be seen to be making reasonable effort to find a new tenant, as well; eg, if she can find someone to take over her the property, you can't refuse providing the individual fulfils your normal vetting procedure.

Comment

Originally posted by bsnapool View Post
      Hi All,

I am a newbie to this site. Was wondering if someone could assist me?