Tenant Fees Bill - referencing, inventory fees

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant Fees Bill - referencing, inventory fees

If the bills passes, am I correct in thinking that landlords can no longer charge for referencing or credit checks and must pay for this themselves?
    Can the lease contain a clause requiring the tenant to pay for an inventory check-out?

If the Bill passes,expect a Rent increase or higher future rents.

Comment

Originally posted by mariner View Post
      If the Bill passes
      It will become law. Have passed 3rd reading in the Lords, so have ping pong back to the Commons to consider amendments passed by the Lords. Nothing controversial. Those in the know was saying that there was enough time for it to become law even if the government had lost confidence vote.

Government already announced that they expect it to come into force on 1 June this year.
      I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

Comment

Originally posted by Pergola View Post
        If the bills passes, am I correct in thinking that landlords can no longer charge for referencing or credit checks and must pay for this themselves?
        Can the lease contain a clause requiring the tenant to pay for an inventory check-out?
        There can be no fees paid by the tenant for referencing and credit checks and the tenant can't be charged for an inventory check out.
        When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
        Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Good afternoon,
          Is it correct that I cannot charge for cleaning when the tenants leave?
          Thanks in advance!

Comment