What's reasonable to expect re boiler?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What's reasonable to expect re boiler?

I've been renting a 19th century cottage for about 6 months now. In the last couple of months, the bath taps have gone from intermittently providing hot water to providing only lukewarm water for a couple of minutes then going to cold. I can get hot water out of the kitchen sink and bathroom basin taps fine, so have been filling the bath with buckets from the sink, but obviously it's not ideal. Heating works fine. I contacted the landlord about this a month ago, they do most repairs themselves so came out to have a look and agreed with me the hot water situation wasn't good enough. They thought they probably needed a new boiler. So 3 plumbers have come out to quote and it turns out it's going to be a very expensive job that will involve lifting floorboards to improve the gas supply, not sure quite how. The problem seems to be the gas pressure coming into the boiler is not high enough but there are also issues with the flue being too close to the window or something like that. Landlord has gone very quiet for 2 weeks so I guess is figuring out what to do. Will they do work involving lifting floorboards (in my bedroom) with us living here, or will I have to temporarily move out? If they can't afford the expense, where do I stand? Is it reasonable to have to fill a bath with buckets from the kitchen sink long term? Could I ask for a power shower or would that not help?

Seems like a strange issue where the bath taps by the sounds of it has an issue, does the bath have a thermostatic valve or cartridge, as I would suspect this is the real issue and not with the boiler if the rest of the taps have hot water. Surprising the plumbers didn't pick up on it. What type of boiler (combi?).