Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

let rooms in flat?

Hi all,
    I have a two bed flat i have recently furnished.. and would like to rent the rooms out independently.
    Can anyone advise what is the best way of doing this..? ie: how should I vet a prospective tenant? How do I protect my additional assets (furniture) what type of deposit is the norm? how is insurance looked upon?
    I would like to put locks on both bedrooms, however I am unsure of the legalities of this?
    Can anyone advise regarding locks and any other advice regarding this? I have no previous experience with this type of letting..?
    Thanks
    legepe

Letting rooms separately could be problematic:
    - How do you show who caused damage in common parts?
    - No tenant in their right mind would go into such an arrangement unless they have an early get-out clause; what if the other person, over whom they have no influence, turns out to be a nightmare?
    - what if one steals from the other? You have put them together, so probably have some responsibility for the situation (unless you get the first person in and then let them help select second person; similarly when one leaves).

Comment

Potential to be a HMO - doesnt sound like you are up on what that means. Dont do it.

Comment

Many leases for flats have a clause saying "not to sub-let any part". If yours has such a clause, the freeholder could take enforcement action against you, with the theoretical possibility of forfeiting your lease.

Comment

Thanks for your replies...
          I own the freehold.. so there is no problems with leasehold
          Basically, I currently have one contractor that is interested to rent the flat.. however, to avoid any future disputes over subletting I would like to secure the bedrooms in the flat.
          I would rent it to him.. however for me to maximize any potential income i need to have it occupied with two contractors.