Help Need on Deposit Scheme

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help Need on Deposit Scheme

I have been letting a property for over 10 years and previously used an agent to find tenants. Agent has now retired and in January I had to find tenants for 2 separate properties (upstairs and downstairs of house).

I must confess I was blissfully unaware of the Deposit scheme and now realise I have made a mistake.

I have two separate problems:

Tenant 1: has paid me a deposit (in Jan) which I didn't realise I needed to deposit - is it too late to deposit it now? if it is what could I do instead and what could be the consequences? I have no problems with this tenant, I just want to ensure that everything is above board and legal.

Tenant 2: could be turning into a case study of the tenant from hell! Foolishly I didn't wait for his cheque to clear before he moved in, and yes you've guessed, the cheque bounced.

He moved in in Jan and so far I still haven't received a deposit from him and he is already behind his rent (although not two months yet).

I have written to him advising that he has arrears of the deposit and rent but this has not yet been forthcoming. Question is - how can I deposit his deposit in the DPS if he hasn't paid it yet? I am worried that this will invalidate the Section 21 proceedings?

Any help will be gratefully accepted.

If he hasn't paid his deposit then he has no deposit to protect. (Lucky really, otherwise you'd be at risk of losing three times the deposit back to him.)

If you hadn't taken a deposit from him then you wouldn't be worrying about this point, would you?
    The contents of this note are neither advice nor a definitive answer. If you plan to rely on this, you should pay somebody for proper advice.

Comment

Originally posted by Grange View Post
      If he hasn't paid his deposit then he has no deposit to protect. (Lucky really, otherwise you'd be at risk of losing three times the deposit back to him.)