Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"Lodger" with live-out landlord

Hello folks!
    Firstly I am sorry if this is in the wrong section.

I have signed a Lodger Agreement with my landlord who certainly does NOT live here (but does store stuff here) but I am very suspicious.
    Truth be told, I am new to all this renting stuff and I have not been the smartest about it...

I signed the contract but only scanned over it.
    I only realised a few days later that I have a "Lodger Agreement" and not a tenancy contract, and as far as I can see, I have no rights and if the washing machine breaks for example, I have to pay for a fix/new one myself... which is the opposite of what I thought I was getting. Even my deposit isn't legally protected as a lodger and this is very concerning since they now seem shady.

I paid £500 as a deposit and £500 upfront for 1 months rent, but the thing is, my landlord is insisting on cash, even when I expressed that this was bothersome.
    As I was in a tight spot, with nowhere to live in 3 days, I let it go.
    She is giving a receipt but while it has my name, date, and amount on it clearly, their signature is scribbles.
    Is this even legitimate? (I have attached a picture of it to this thread)

I want to rent a place as a tenant... simple as that!
    I am afraid that if I pull my landlord on this, they will just tell me to leave.
    (The lodgers agreement says: EARLY TERMINATION - any party may at anytime end this agreement earlier than the end of the term by giving to the other written notice of 1 month)... if this is not a lodgers agreement since she does not live here, is this still valid? I'm worried because 1 month is not enough time for me to find a new place and accumulate another deposit in the event she doesn't give me this one back in full.

Can someone please help me?
    I would be very grateful!

As I said, they do not live here.