Is there a defence to a S21 Possession Claim

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is there a defence to a S21 Possession Claim

My AST is dated 28 Feb. 3013. After constant arrears I now wish to evict and have served a S21. But I have stupidly neglected to get a gas cert every year. Before I issued the S21 I bought a new boiler and had it certified so I am now compliant with the gas regs. Is my past failure to have a cert a valid defence against a S21 possession order?

Go through: https://markprichard.co.uk/documents...lidity-checker

My AST is dated 28 Feb. 3013
    Really? Can you sell me your time machine please!

Assuming 2013, was that the date of the last time a tenancy was granted / renewed / extended?

Please give answers as requested.

Deposit protected? Deposit prescribed information given?
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Yes, apologies, 2013. This AST began on that date. Yes, deposit protected, prescribed info info given.

Comment

6 months, then holding over. Constant arrears and excuses from this benefit claimant, usually blaming the LHA for not paying him. I am very wary of a S8 application as he may counterclaim over the gas certs.

Comment

Obviously he is looking for angles to defeat the S21 and will be represented as he is on benefits and he may wait until he is evicted as he will then qualify for LHA housing. Family of five.

Comment

On the other hand an accelerated, undefended S21 procedure might do the trick and he hangs on till bailiffs come to call. Bailiffs... I hope not.

Comment