Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

More leftie policies from the Conservatives

Anyone seen today's little gem?
    A minimum three-year contract would allow people to put down more roots in their area, ministers say.

Well, you can always pick Labour who proposed to scarp section 21 instead.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Originally posted by KTC View Post
      Well, you can always pick Labour who proposed to scarp section 21 instead.
      That's Hobson's choice, isn't it? Surely it amounts to much the same thing?

Comment

I was just trying to find the finer details JKO, and the stats that the proposal is based on (e.g. what percentage of Ts are asked to leave before they want to and what are the reasons for this (arrears? repossession by BTL mtg provider? death of landlord?).

Comment

I suspect it comes from very Conservative values, i.e. that residents, not the state should be responsible for the well-being of the neighbourhood, and that having a stake in the neighbourhood makes them more likely to do that. Without an actual financial stake, and with only three years, I don't think it will be effective.

Comment

I don't think having a 3 year tenancy will make any difference at all to the well-being of a neighbourhood either. Does a 3 year tenancy mean that a landlord can't evict a bad tenant for 3 years? Or will S21 still be the same?

Comment

I think neighbourhoods will be worse off with 3 year tenancies. At least at the moment you might prevail upon a landlord to kick a delinquent out after 6 months.

Comment

Originally posted by JK0 View Post
                That's Hobson's choice, isn't it? Surely it amounts to much the same thing?