Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to rent guide updated - June 2018

FYI:

A new version of the How to Rent guide have been published by the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government as of 26 June 2018.

An up-to-date copy of the guide must be supplied before a section 21 notice can be given if any new tenancy is granted on or after this date, including a statutory periodic tenancy arising from a tenancy from before this date.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Getting more stupid by the version.
    This one's so full of links that the printed version is vastly less useful than the electronic file.

Which can only be used in specific circumstances.
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Funny enough I was getting a new tenancy agreement done last night and noticed this had changed again. Glad I checked

Comment

But what if you already issued a s21 to expire on 10th August 2018, for a fixed term that expires on 6th August 2018?
        To save them chiming in, JPKeates, Theartfullodger, Boletus, Mindthegap, Macromia, Holy Cow & Ted.E.Bear think the opposite of me on almost every subject.

Comment

Originally posted by JK0 View Post
          But what if you already issued a s21 to expire on 10th August 2018, for a fixed term that expires on 6th August 2018?
          There has to be one.

A notice under subsection (1) or (4) of section 21 may not be given in relation to an assured shorthold tenancy of a dwelling-house in England at a time when the landlord is in breach of a requirement imposed by regulations under subsection (1).