Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Section 8 Procedure

Hello everyone.

I was just wondering if someone can assist with a query I have. I served a section 8 notice which expired about 2 months ago. I have delayed issuing proceedings due due to unrealted matters but now wish to proceed. Will I have to re-serve the notice or can I still use the same one to issue proceedings.

Thank you.

(Assuming the stated ground is still valid) Form 3 itself clearly states "After the date shown in section 5, court proceedings may be begun at once but not later than 12 months from the date on which this notice is served. After this time the notice will lapse and a new notice must be served before possession can be sought."
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

Comment

Thank you KTC. I had completely missed that note in the notice.

Thanks again.

Comment

Latest Activity

Collapse

• Management contract advice
        MrQ
        I rent my property via a letting agent using their fully managed service, for various reasons I need to switch to another management company. I have given notice in writing to the current agents and I have received the response below. I believe it is only the first 6 months of the agreement that I could...
        12-12-2018, 10:53 AM
      • Reply to Management contract advice
        jpkeates
        Yes. The existing tenant would have vacated, which allows you to serve notice.

If their service is crappy, complain about it.

It's worrying that you think they're so crappy you'd be prepared to evict someone from their home and go without rent for a time to rid yourself of...
        12-12-2018, 12:37 PM
        MrQ
        I've heard of people putting the rent up, tenants deciding to leave due to increase, then free to switch, could this be an option? - is it legal?
        12-12-2018, 12:23 PM
        MrQ