Can a letting agent rescind offer of a property after contract has been signed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can a letting agent rescind offer of a property after contract has been signed?

I am a postgraduate university student, and my partner and I were looking for a place to live for the duration of our masters degree. Eventually we settled on a flat after meeting with a letting agent and having a viewing.

We both signed a tenancy agreement and paid deposits to the tune of £800, and thought everything was taken care of. This was in late June/early July and we were due to move in September.

However, a few days ago my partner was sent an email stating: "Unfortunately the tenants that were meant to move out of your apartment are no longer moving out. They are staying on. We are finding it difficult to locate another 2 bedroom apartment. We do have a 2 bed in [another building] at the same price."

My partner and I were both set on living in the first apartment we were offered. And currently my partner is staying in another country which would make viewing new properties difficult. I looked at images of the new place offered online and honestly it seems inferior. We have asked for more information but they haven't replied to our email.

I'm here to ask for advice:
    could they offer us a property without knowing if the previous tenant is staying on?
    If the previous tenant's contract was up before we signed our contract, doesn't that mean we should be the ones staying there?
    Does them rescinding the offer mean a breach of our agreement and should we get the deposit back?