X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

freeholder promission Mistake

Evening

As you will see from my question i am a complete newbie

I've bought a leasehold flat through Right To Buy. The flat is a 2 bed and has alot of space so I've started turning it into a 3 bedroom flat. I got planning permission from the council and I thought that was all i had to do.

I letter found out i needed to get permission from the freeholder ( which is the council)

Has anyone got any advice on what I should do from here as I think when it comes to me selling on the flat I will need to show I had permission?

You need authorisation from the freeholder to do any structural repairs / alterations.
    Your lease ( read it from front to back ) may also say no alterations of any kind without authorisation.
    you must not carry out the alterations without permission.
    If you do, you could find yourself in court for not conforming to the lease to get permission.

The work you are doing will need, probably, the freeholder to engage a surveyor to check your plans, and comment on the work. You pay for the freeholders surveyor.

Even after that, freeholder may still say no.
    The lease may prevent it, disturbance to the residence may prevent it, etc.

You are renting the flat from the freeholders, it does not belong to you.
    You did not buy the flat, you bought the lease. which allows you to stay in those rooms demised to you for the length of the lease.
    At the end of the lease, you give the flat back, and receive no payment for the lease ( or flat )
    And as a lease can be 20 pages long. that's about £ 7000 per page !
    Any rental in excess of 21 years has to be in the form of a lease.

Have fun.
    Get permission.

Comment