Converting spare lounge into self contained studio for renting - Advice required.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Converting spare lounge into self contained studio for renting - Advice required.

Hi All,

Newbie here and wondering if you experts can help.

I recently purchased a house and did a massive renovation. However now the other half and I have been thinking of renting out the spare lounge as we dont have any plans for using it for the foreseeable future and could do with the extra income. If we as a family grow in 10 years then i would like to put back to a lounge.

We dont want to be living with someone else, sharing bathroom kitchen etc.

What do i need to do to put a small bathroom and kitchen in the lounge. The lounge also has an external wall which is to the side of the property and therefore ideally would like to put a external door to the side so that whoever rents can use for entering and leaving the property.

I would rent out with all bills included, including council tax.

Please let me know if you need any further details so that you can help me with which options i have and how i can proceed with each of them.

Thanks
    Alps

You would need planning permission to create an extra dwelling...Peter

Comment

Thanks Peter. Would an "extra dwelling" consist of separate electricity, council tax, door number? etc. I dont really want to create an extra dwelling if i can avoid.

just want to rent a room which is self contained so that i can keep my living personal.

If i have to create an extra dwelling then what is required apart from planning permission? what do the local planning look for? do they normally accept the creation of an an extra dwelling? Costs involved apart from the building modifications?

Thanks in advance for all the advice and help.

Comment

buidling regs?
        Unshackled by the chains of idle vanity, A modest manatee, that's me

Comment