Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New freeholders requesting sublet fee

Hello,

I saw a long thread about this on this forum but couldn't see an answer to my case (although one person did ask about it).

I've been renting a flat to the same tenants since December 2014. I requested permission from the then freeholder to sublet, and permission was granted, in writing, with no fee.

A new freeholder, {Mod - name removed}, took over towards the end of 2015.

I've just received a letter requesting £140.00 for a sublet application.

The lease says:

Not to underlet the whole of the Apartment except upon terms that the undertenant is liable to pay a rent not less than the aggregate of the rents reserved by this lease and the Tenant's Share of the Expenses and to give notice of such underletting to the Landlord and to pay their fee (being not less than £60 plus VAT).

Does that mean I have to pay the full £140? Does the fact I have already cleared this with the previous freeholders count for nothing?

Thanks.

What does your lease say?
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Written permission from the Freeholder is written permission from the Freeholder.

I reply stating that written consent was granted on date x. Await their response.
      There is always scope for misinterpretation.

If my posts can be interpreted in two ways, one that makes you feel angry and one that doesn't, I meant the latter.

Everyday is an opportunity to learn something new.

Comment

Originally posted by mk1fan View Post
        Written permission from the Freeholder is written permission from the Freeholder.
        I reply stating that written consent was granted on date x. Await their response.
        And, it's only on a change of tenant that you will be asked to pay a fee.

Comment