freehold house purchase

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

freehold house purchase

I’m after some advice please for my partner’s parents. They have 2 properties on leasehold.

Property 1:

They have asked the management agents who act on behalf of the landlord about buying the freehold as they wish to sell the house. The letter they received was a request for £235 from another company (not the managment company)who represent the landlords. It has no details of what they get for the money and they also state if they pay £325 it will be processed quicker?

I’m in the thinking of composing a letter saying that we require details about the landlord/s so we can contact them directly as I’m a little bit wary of this letter with the demands for a figure without anything being done except a fee to process the application. I would think this is classed as unreasonable costs already but I’m not an expert.

Property 2:

They purchased a bungalow that was a wreck at auction. After unsuccessfully trying to contact the landlords to pay the rent and discuss buying the freehold they are in limbo about what to do next. The paperwork they do have has the landlords address but they fail to communicate back via their own solicitor. My main concern on this is the lease expires in less than 25 years time and the property is now valued at 4 times what was paid (major repair work). The paperwork from some years ago asked for £20k to buy the freehold. What are the options and can we force the landlords to at least communicate or force the sale through arbitration even if they object.

thanks

Lease-advice.org gives valuable advice on enfranchising your freehold and lease extension using the rights in law for leaseholders. It's government sponsored so can be trusted.

You can get your freeholders' names from the Land Registry website by downloading a copy of the title for £3 each. Make sure you use the .gov website and not one of the many money grabbing fakes!

Comment