Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lease Subletting Conditions

Hello Everyone

I have just joined this forum in the hopes of getting an understanding of the following, which appears in my lease" That the Lessee will not assign transfer, underlet or part with the possession or occupation of any part of the demised premises other than the entirety thereof"

Can you help me please?

With kind regards

Centurion

Originally posted by Centurion View Post
    Can you help me please?
    Sure...

1. "No subletting allowed"
    2. You get better responses here by starting a new, appropriately titled thread for a new topic, rather than following up an unrelated thread!

Comment

That's not the way I read it!

I'd say you can let it just as long as you let the whole, ie not split it up and let a part of it.

Comment

Thanks for helping me out, in particular about starting a new thread. I am a newbie here and would have taken that advice however I did not see the opportunity

With kind regards

Centurion

Comment

I'm in agreement with tipper. You can let it as as whole, but not as rooms.

Comment

I also have one of those leases. It just means you can only sell or let the flat as a single unit, without splitting it.

Comment

I think I don't agree with Ericthelobster either because this clause gives four different things that the lessee is not allowed to do:

Originally posted by Centurion View Post
              " That the Lessee will not assign transfer, underlet or part with the possession or occupation of any part of the demised premises other than the entirety thereof"
              (1) Assign
              (2) Transfer
              (3) Underlet
              (4) Part with the possession or occupation

and all those four options are in regards to the following object:

"Any part of the demised premises other than the entirety thereof".