Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

cost to interpret lease terms

Hi,

I live on the first floor of a block of flats, i want to build on top of the ground floor flat. I am told by our managing agents that the roof of the ground floor belongs to the freeholders. The ground flat has a leasehold only.

There are 10 flats in total of which 7 have a share of the freehold, of which my flat has a 12% share. All the flats pay an equal share of the service charge.

So what i want to know is would i have to pay for the additional area that will be added to my flat although i am not technically building on additional land if that makes since, i am building onto of an existing ground floor flat.

Any help and advice would be much appreciated.

thanks

Mo

[/LEFT]

The freeholder owns the site and the area. You as a leaseholder, are an entirely separate legal entity to the freeholder even though you might be a joint owner shareholder or member.

Should you wish to acquire the area then the freeholder could sell it to you, the figure being based on the increase in value to your home, less construction costs.

The freeholder would then disburse the proceeds by whatever means they have agreed and you in turn would receive your share.

The service charge figures would also be adjusted to reflect your greater floor area and proportion to expenses to maintain and insure the building, and your lease amended to show the changes in layout and responsibility.
    Based on the information posted, I offer my thoughts.Any action you then take is your liability. While commending individual effort, there is no substitute for a thorough review of documents and facts by paid for professional advisers.

Comment

Hi,