I want to buy part of the communal area but a lessee objects

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I want to buy part of the communal area but a lessee objects

I was keen to buy a part of the common part of the building in which my flat is situated as the area in question could easily be annexed to my property.

Our building is owned by a Company which in turn is controlled by its members who are all Lessees including myself.I have asked the Company but one of the 5 Lessees has objected although he has not given a reason. Has that Lessee the legal right to block the purchase given that the majority of the Company consent?

If the objecting lessee's lease gives him a right to use the communal area in question then you would be depriving him of his rights in his lease and why shouldn't he object?

Buying the freehold together doesn't change the rights in the individual leases.
    RICHARD WEBSTER

As a conveyancing solicitor I believe the information given in the post to be useful (provided it relates to property in England & Wales) but I accept no liability except to fee-paying clients.

Comment

It is the companies decision to sell or not sell. As RW has said they must be able to sell the area to you; a right over it might preclude that, and
      1: you or they might have to compensate the lessee and amend their lease
      2: allow the right to continue, if rarely exercised; eg means of escape or delivery over part of a garden
      3: ask him what his objection is and negotiate.

if the company is free to sell it, they can ignore the objection on a majority vote.

Bear in mind that your service charge % may change accordingly- eg annexing an external lobby increases your floor area so your % increases,inc building insurance, even if overall cleaning costs are slightly reduced.