Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Master thesis - general questions about long leasehold system

Hello,

my name is Juliane Kaebisch. I am a german student for Real Estate Valuation and I`m writing a master thesis on "International ground lease-systems”.

The leasehold-system in england is very interesting and I have found a lot information. But there are still unanswered questions especially about the “long leasehold”.

Could anybody answer my questions below? It would be very helpful for me.

1. The conditions of a long leasehold are regulated in a lease agreement between the landlord and the lessee.
    But which provisions are mandatory under the law? And could you tell me which conditions are typical for a long lease agreement (especially for long leases of houses or commercial estates like offices).

2. Where is the leasehold enter in the land registry (property register, proprietorship register or charges register)?

3. What happened with the long leasehold in case of a foreclosure sale(compulsory auction)? Would it persist?

4. What determines the ground rent? How high is it usually for an office building and a residential building? Is it usual to index the ground rent and which index is used for that?

5. Is it usual to pay a compensation at the end of the lease?

Thank you in advance!
    And sorry for my English

Greetings Juliane

1. Hardly any. Best way forwards: find someone (friend? colleague?) who lives in a local block of flats.
    2. Each ownership is individually registered under its own title number with at least Property Register and Proprietorship Register. A leasehold title is noted against the corresponding freehold reversionary title.
    3. Yes (unless the reversioner [L] is forfeiting it- extremely rarely happens in real life).