Lease- 53 yrs. unexpired- extend term or enfranchise?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lease- 53 yrs. unexpired- extend term or enfranchise?

Hi everyone,

I am desperate for some advice. I hope someone can help.

I have recently received a letter from the management co. of the freeholder of my property in reply to my request to find a figure for either extending the lease from 53 years back to 99 or the purchase price to collectively buy the freehold.

I am just starting out on this and my letter was my first exploration into this area, so far I have mentioned buying the freehold with the other 3 tenants in our block of 4 maisonettes & everyone is cautiously interested. 3 tenants including myself are on 53 years and the other is on 99 having recently extended their lease.

The Freeholder dismissed my request as out of the question informing me that all of the tenants had to be involved or I would be unable to proceed with purchasing the lease. They also said that setting up a management co. by tenants never works. I have replied that I am sure you are able to proceed as long as you have 50% of the tenants on board & also that I didn't ask for their opinion.

They have told me in turn I am wrong & should consult a solicitor. They are very unhelpful in general. The properties are all covered by buildings insurance which as tenants we are forced to take out with the freeholders own insurers at an inflated price, their role as freeholder seems to rely soley on making money on lease extensions.
    They do not maintain the property at all & there are no communal areas to upkeep anyway. Currently the ground rent is a minimal £16 per year but I am told by a neighbour that they have heard this will increase next year to £100 and the year after to £200.