Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

5 yearly Rent Reviews

Hi Guys,

I have a small leasehold flat in Southend On sea, i have attempted to sell the flat on a number of occasions recently and we have got very close to completion only for the proposed buyers to pull out and their conveyancers advising them not to purchase the property due to the lease stating that there are 5 year rent reviews. The ground rent is currently £350 per annum. by all accounts mortgage companies won't lend on properties with this stipulation in the lease. I bought this flat 15 years ago and i haven't really been keeping any eye on any changes that could ward off mortgage companies lending. The property was recent;ty valued at £105k. Could you pleaser advise me what my next course of action is? Can I/should I look into extending the lease and then request that the freeholder change the duration of when the rent is reviewed? Thank you kindly. G

Ok i am no expert on this one but why would the freeholder change the clause which gives them a guaranteed position to increase the ground rent ? It is to their advantage...... When you say it can be reviewed, does it say anything about it going up a certain percentage or similar ?

Comment

What does the review clause actually say? Every 5 years, it's increased by £10 for example is very different to every 5 years it's increased by 10% compounded.
      I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

If you want to sell it quickly then auction may be your best bet, if there are clauses which prevent the "normal" buyer from getting it. How long is your current lease, you need to weigh up the cost of the extension to the value it will bring to the property.