Leaseholders email

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leaseholders email

I own the freehold of a Victorian building consisting of two flats. I own one flat but have the freehold for both.

I am now selling my flat with a share of the freehold, which was valued at £6000 with a 125 year lease.

The other flat has a lease of 62 and half years left and the valuation for the freehold was £35,000 this was from a surveyor and not something I have just plucked out of thin air.

Although I have tried to do as much research on leases, I am no expert. I told the leaseholder the value of the lease and she basically send me an email saying how outrageous it was and that it was above market value.
    We have always been on friendly terms and this has really thrown me. She then starting saying her property is riddled with damp and that it's my fault.

Am I wrong to give her the valuation price? I understand that it is a valuation and like anything it is dependent on what someone is willing to pay.

What are my options now she has said she is not interested?

Two options:-

1) Sell your flat and retain the freehold. You would have to still manage it of course

2) Sell you flat and the freehold but take an overriding lease of the short flat - this will mean you will continue to receive the ground rent from the short lease flat, and when the lessee of the short lease flat wants a lease ext they will have to deal with you. If later on you want to raise money you can always sell the overriding lease. This removes you from having to manage the freehold after you have sold the flat.

Comment

The buyers of my flat will only purchase if sold with a share of the freehold. I have not heard of the second option, but will certainly look into it.

Comment

If the buyer wants a share of the freehold it will have to be a very small share to reflect the difference in value of the lease lengths.

Comment

Originally posted by thecrazy1 View Post